ALL the Podcasts I’m listening to right now. Right. Now.

I’ve been ingesting a lot of media lately.  A lot a lot.  I have the kind of job right now that allows me to listen to podcasts the entire workday.  So I basically listen to podcasts the entire workday.  In addition to, you know, working.

Right now I’m on a Good Life Project kick.  Good Life Project is “in-depth, unscripted, deeply-inspiring conversations and insights from acclaimed artists, entrepreneurs, makers and world-shakers.”  It really gives you that feeling of: “Why am I not world-shaking? There is nothing preventing me from being a world-shaker except myself.”

I have also gone through every episode of all three current shows offered by Gimlet Media.  Starlee Kine’s Mystery Show is probably my favorite, because it’s like this breath of fresh and unique air after hours and hours of other podcasts that just aren’t as fresh or unique.  And there’s some pretty dang fresh and unique content out there, people!

Then there’s always the much depended upon weekly offerings of This American Life, WTF, and You Made It Weird.  Also love On Being with Krista Tippet (she interviewed banjo players last week and it was that feeling of: “Why am I not a banjo player? There is nothing preventing me from being a banjo player except myself!”)

I went through a couple months of mainly listening to Professor Blastoff with Tig Notaro, David Huntsberger, and Kyle Dunnigan.  Can’t recommend it enough for those times when you’re lamenting all of the world you’re not shaking and the banjos you’re not playing.

That’s pretty much it.  Except for the WNYC shows that I love, including Death, Sex & Money, and the Longest Shortest Time.  Alec Baldwin’s show is really good, too, for times when you want Alec Baldwin in your head.

What else.  I hit up the audio of the Rachel Maddow Show (not a podcast, but offered as one and ingested as one).  Dabble in some Duncan Trussell Family Hour.  Look to Bookworm, because Michael Silverblatt in your head is even better than Alec Baldwin in your head.  Really, it’s like a warm, comforting, and intellectual hug for your head.

And finally, because it just can’t be mentally sound to ingest all this, lean on any and all of the MindPod Network’s shows to get that “ancient wisdom for modern times.”  Modern times, indeed.  Especially love listening to Jack Kornfield and Sharon Salzberg.  MindPod Network is great because they really just got in on the podcast game and they are just destroying it.  Destroying it with ancient wisdom.

Now that I’ve cataloged it all so comprehensively I feel kind of awful.  I don’t want this to be my life.  But, for now, while I’m not world-shaking and banjo-playing, it’s pretty good.  It’s pretty okay.  Okay, it’s awful.  I’m miserable.  I want it to stop.  I want all the noise to stop.

Anyway.  I guess that’s my blog post.  And this is my life.  And those are my podcasts.

Oh, and I listen to my local NPR station KPCC on the drive in and home most days.  Please help me.  Okay, sometimes I switch over to Ryan Seacrest, but only if I’m really caffeined up and want to know what Ariana Grande is up to.  (She’s up to a lot, you guys.  She has, like, zero time for podcasts because she’s SHAKING THE WORLD.)

Image credit: This is the first image that came up when I did a creative commons search for “world shaker.”  Find it here in a very informative Wikipedia entry on Shaker furniture.

This entry was published on July 13, 2015 at 8:34 pm. It’s filed under Culture, Entertainment, Life, Media, Podcasts, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

