Grateful for James Tate

I was really upset when I read that James Tate died this week.  I saw the news while I was at work, and it made it so that the last thing I wanted to do was work. I texted my husband something like, “I just want to read his poems and think about life.”  So, that’s what I did for awhile.

A therapist of mine first introduced me to James Tate.  She said, “I think you’ll like him.”  And I did.  And I loved that therapist.  I moved away from her and now only occasionally write her emails.  But, for some reason, only when things are good.  So, it’s been awhile.  James Tate’s passing made me think of her.  And of how rare to have someone who knows you well.

The other thing I did after reading James Tate poems and thinking about life for awhile–I wrote a poem.  I haven’t been writing much lately.  Probably for the same reason that I haven’t been sending emails to my old therapist.  There just doesn’t seem to be much to say.  Much to feel excited about or grateful for.  But of course there is.  There always is.  And James Tate’s poems remind me of that.

http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poetrymagazine/browse/181/4#!/20606038

http://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/it-happens

http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/179853

This entry was published on July 12, 2015 at 1:26 pm. It’s filed under Art, Creativity, Culture, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Grateful for James Tate

  1. So sorry you lost one of your supports. As I get older and we lose “celebrities”, it’s tough. Hugs. Do you find e-mailing your old therapist helpful?

    • It is tough. It’s interesting how people we don’t know personally influence our idea of what the world is. Just knowing they’re in it. They’re shaping it. Then, they’re gone, and we have to adjust our idea of the world.

      Yes, it feels like emailing a friend! A friend whose time and energy and professional boundaries I want to be very respectful of 🙂

  2. Thank you for following my blog.

Leave a Reply

